EU Commission eudebates new Travel restrictions to control Coronavirus COVID19 infections

Following the relaxation of measures and border restrictions, much of Europe is now experiencing a second wave.
#eudebates #UStravelers #Travel #restrictions #USA #COVID #Borders

Quarantine, testing and travel restrictions in Europe.Across Europe, governments reopened their borders over the summer after months of closure during the spring coronavirus pandemic.

Along with new lockdown restrictions, some countries are closing their borders once again to travellers coming from hotspots. The situation is fluid, and the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control has published maps to support a coordinated approach across the bloc.

It’s updated every Thursday.

For countries outside of the bloc, the EU has opened its external borders to a select group, based on their coronavirus numbers. The list is updated every fortnight.

As of August 8, citizens of Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and China can enter. The US, Montenegro, Morocco and Serbia are among the countries on the banned list. But member states are not, however, legally obliged to follow the EU’s recommendation.

European travel restrictions: Where can non-EU travelers enter?

The European Union
At present, the European Union member states generally only allow entry for citizens or residents of other EU countries and the Schengen Area. Anyone without residency or citizenship in a EU state or the Schengen Area wishing to enter from a third country must have a valid justification, though since August 6 most member countries have gradually been lifting restrictions for nationals of Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Tunisia, New Zealand, Thailand and Uruguay.

However, each EU country maintains its own standards for deciding whether and how citizens of third countries may enter if they are already in an EU or Schengen country.

Each EU member state also decides and implements its own further measures to curb the spread of the pandemic, such as quarantines upon entry from another region or country. Local regulations also differ widely on various social distancing measures, curfews and mask-wearing requirements.

Europe’s five most-visited destinations
Germany, along with France, Spain, Italy and the United Kingdom, is among the world’s 10 most-visited countries, according to the UN World Tourism Organization. Travel to France, Spain, Italy and the United Kingdom remain heavily restricted.

France, the world’s top tourism destination country by arrivals, has continued to heavily restrict entry to foreign citizens.

Germany announced on October 1 the lifting of its general outbound travel warning for a total of 160 countries outside the EU. Going forward, each country will now be assessed individually.

Regarding inbound travel to Germany, note that if your entry is allowed but your country of departure is classified as a risk area, you must adhere to the latest quarantine requirements that apply in Germany.

Italy has extended its state of emergency into 2021, and entry from abroad remains heavily restricted. Complete information is available at the Italian Foreign Ministry website.

Spain, like France, Germany and Italy, also permits unrestricted entry from the EU, the Schengen Area and a small list of third countries. The country’s official tourism website provides complete information and resources.

United Kingdom: The current entry restrictions are complex, and many people allowed entry may nevertheless need to self-isolate. The UK government has established a list of travel corridors, countries from which visitors may enter and not have to self-isolate. #eudebates #eudebates


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *